2008 Memphis Grand Prix – Time Trial

June 29, 2008 at 10:43 pm Leave a comment

Quick summary: 11th place

The details:I spent the afternoon relaxing in the hotel lobby and then working to get my brand new clip-on TT bars mounted on my bike. Philip and Brent helped a lot to get my position right. Thanks guys! Philip, Jacob, and I all decided to bike over to the start/finish area since it was only 6 miles from our hotel. My legs were feeling pretty heavy when we stepped up the speed, but I was really loving the new TT bars. I felt comfortable AND I felt like I had some good leverage on the bars so that I could power through smaller hills.

The course was a closed road that paralleled an active set of railroad tracks. The course was out/back 4 miles total. We came into the course before anyone started and got a chance to ride it two and a half times. I liked the course and new that you had to save some energy for after the turnaround when you would be battling back up a small grade into a decent headwind. My power meter helped me keep from going out too hard, and it helped me keep from panicking on the way back in when I wasn’t going very fast to realize that it was because of the grade and headwind – NOT because I was just going slow. I was pleased that my time was about 6 seconds improved from similar TT’s. Also, check out how low my average heart rate was and yet how high the average power was. Normally I’d be freaking out b/c my HR was so low, but because I knew I was putting out the watts to maintain a descent speed I was able to keep pushing.

2008 Memphis Grand Prix - Time Trial

  1. Power spike on the first small riser. I saved some energy after the start to kick it hard here to keep my speed up.
  2. The turn-around
  3. High power, slightly slower speed on the uphill grade into headwind
  4. Again, good power through here even though the speed was dropping
Entry filed under: Racing. Tags: , , , .

2008 Memphis Grand Prix – Road Race 2008 Memphis Grand Prix – Criterium (and overall results)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


See your ad here!

Contact me to see your ad here!
kartoone76@gmail.com

instagram kartoone76

Cold this morning, singlespeeding it by the end of the ride, plus final ride stats on the bottom. Clear view from Cambo Ln A few laps at the end to take today up to a 4000m gran fondo commute.

Kristine’s ToonesFanClub

Brian Toone

Recent Posts

Categories

June 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Quick reference stats

Anaerobic Threshold:
Power:315 watts
Heart rate:180 bpm
Maximums:
Power:1097 watts (5s)
Heart rate:198 bpm (5s)
AT power estimated by critical power curve in Golden Cheetah, which predicts I should be able to maintain 315 watts for 1 hour.

Blog Stats

  • 224,208 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

