Archive for February 8, 2009

Birmingham to Chattanooga – well, almost!

I had my longest training ride of the year today. Kristine was meeting some friends in Chattanooga for a lunch get-together, and my parents had volunteered to take the kids for the night – sooo what’s a crazy cyclist to do … bike to Chattanooga!!! That was the plan, and it went pretty well but I ran out of time and daylight and only made it to Rising Fawn, Georgia about 20 miles short of the goal! I had a tailwind for much of the ride and averaged close to 22 mph for the first 4 hours. Here’s a map of the route, some pictures I took along the way, and my HR/Power data.

Birmingham to Rising Fawn, Georgia - Route and Elevation Analysis

Birmingham to Rising Fawn, Georgia - Route and Elevation Analysis

Birmingham (Chelsea) to Rising Fawn, Georgia

Birmingham (Chelsea) to Rising Fawn, Georgia

Birmingham to Rising Fawn, Georgia - Elevation Profile

Birmingham to Rising Fawn, Georgia - Elevation Profile

Birmingham to Rising Fawn, Georgia HR and Power Data

Birmingham to Rising Fawn, Georgia HR and Power Data

To put everything in perspective, I had a tailwind for a good part of the ride and I still didn’t even make it the distance that they race in Paris-Roubaix! And I didn’t have cobblestones to deal with, although there was one part of US 11 in Dekalb County that was pretty rough.

February 8, 2009 at 9:55 pm 7 comments


See your ad here!

Contact me to see your ad here!
kartoone76@gmail.com

instagram kartoone76

Alligator bridge Mermaid with starfish plus jaba the hut palace (according to Josiah) Sunset on the beach

Kristine’s ToonesFanClub

Brian Toone

Recent Posts

Categories

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Quick reference stats

Anaerobic Threshold:
Power:315 watts
Heart rate:180 bpm
Maximums:
Power:1097 watts (5s)
Heart rate:198 bpm (5s)
AT power estimated by critical power curve in Golden Cheetah, which predicts I should be able to maintain 315 watts for 1 hour.

Blog Stats

  • 213,174 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers